Autism – What will I gain from being diagnosed later in life? It won’t change anything for me, so why should I bother?”

Seventh Voice

231094_10152262338935543_107772025_n

People often ask me: “What will I gain from being diagnosed later in life? It won’t change anything for me, so why should I bother?”

Well, my answer as to whether or not anyone should “bother” to get diagnosed is this.

Firstly, on a purely personal level, it depends entirely on what your personal circumstances are and what the biggest issues are that you’re facing at any given point in time.

If you’re a person who’s main problem is that you’re always feeling misunderstood or blamed by your family member for being the way that you are, then perhaps receiving a formal diagnosis may help your family members to comprehend and accept that some of the onus for understanding both who and how you are, falls upon them to make more of an effort to accept you as you are, rather than allowing them to continue to always view you…

View original post 1.014 woorden meer

Dit bericht werd geplaatst in Uncategorized. Bookmark de permalink .

Geef een reactie

